Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all time even on holidays . Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages

In this day and age, there are often concerns about maintaining a healthy balance between one’s career and personal life. However, it is a well-established practice among some job owners to keep in touch with their employees even during holidays in order to deal with the numerous work-related problems to survive in the competitive business world. In the essay, I will look at the advantages of having on-call duties arranged and the disadvantages associated with being contacted by employers all the time. On one hand, there are some instances, where requesting staff members to take part in duties even if their shift is completed will be more advantageous.Take the health sector as an example. All the professionals including physicians and paramedics are bound to treat patients around the clock and deal with emergencies that arise. In spite of the fact that they are being paid extra for that valuable service, it is more about job satisfaction in the long term. Another benefit of having on-call shifts is when having technical breakdowns. In other words most employers have ready-made strategies to overcome unexpected issues associated with machinery so that they will not lose profit. For instance, in many textile garments, employees are allocated to act out immediately in case of any breakdown, because they need to be as competitive as their counterparts to be consistent in business. A call from your boss is unavoidable in such a critical situation. On the other hand, if we consider the drawbacks of this development, it will be difficult for some staff members to switch off during holidays if the call of duty is always in the back of their minds. As a result, many tend to have a poor work-life balance and are more likely to develop stress-related illnesses, such as heart problems and mental disorders. In addition,some employees might cherish their personal relationships over a job they find exhausting and often decide to quit jobs putting their bosses at risk. In conclusion, despite bringing more positive effects for employers, the above concept seems to affect adversely members of staff. Therefore, employers need to follow a well-balanced approach while implementing rules and regulations about on-call duties.