These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Nowadays, a growing number of people, especially young adults, find it attractive to spend an extended period of time overseas either to take a year out to live or to study. However, there are both pros and cons to deciding to do this. On the one hand, heading overseas is a chance to broaden your horizons. Specifically, you have the chance to meet people from different cultural backgrounds and learn to cope with foreign customs and food while immersing yourself in local culture. This can make you more rounded as a person. Secondly, moving abroad can lead to a better quality of life. For example, thousands of people from Vietnam move to Korea or Japan every year. These countries offer more opportunities to work or study, so that you can gain qualifications and language skills, which may improve promotion prospects on your return. On the other hand, culture shock is a major problem. Many people take a year out and find it hard to cope with the language barrier, the food and general cultural differences. This often leads to homesickness and in some cases a sense of isolation. Another difficulty you may encounter is that it can be hard to start life from scratch. In other words, you have to make new friends and find your place in the community. This process takes time and can be especially challenging if there is also a language barrier to deal with. To sum up, starting life in a foreign country is never plain sailing. Personally, I believe the benefits in terms of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.