Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small and local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the widespread of supermarkets in some nations, many small local businesses are at risk of disappearing. While it is believed that the collapse of these local shops will cause a significant impact on society, I indeed hold that this type of work is the livelihood of many families, so its closure will mean the backward evolvement of many communities. Firstly, a lot of developed countries completely embraced the rapid expansion of big shops and considered them as a way of showing the industry development. Moreover, Supermarkets are likely to have lower prices, and they are deemed more convenient. For instance, a person can find all his desired items in one Supermarket instead of going around multiple small shops. However, this colossal development overshadowed groceries stores that many families gain their wages from, resulting in the rise of unemployment rates in local communities, which can affect the economic growth as well. Secondly, this new trend is a threat to many shop owners and those who are willing to start a new business. In other words, Supermarkets raised the standards of marketing that many young adults can't handle and are too afraid to risk and launch a company that is condemned to fail before its start. This means that local communities are losing their brains and the chance to develop. For example, many youngsters are leaving their hometowns in the hope of finding better opportunities elsewhere. Therefore, this new development doesn't only break the ambition of many young people to own a business, but it also affects the societies' thriving. In conclusion, the competition between Supermarkets and local businesses is unfear and overwhelming to small business owners. Some people, namely me, hold that this new culture has counterproductive results on the local communities, leading to increased unemployment rates as well as oppressing young adults' dreams of starting a new business.