Nowadays people around the world are choosing to self-medicate rather than seeing a doctor and using conventional medicine. What are the causes of this change and what effects can be seen as a result?

Presently, a large number of people are inclined towards taking medicines on their own instead of consulting with a doctor and taking proper medical procedures. This approach has reasons such as the high cost of doctors' appointments and the need to perform many tests. Hence, it has adverse impacts on people by shifting them to high potency medicines and various organ mulfunctions malfunction. To begin with, people nowadays try to medicate themselves because taking an appointment with a doctor is a costly affair. To clarify, when people have to consult a doctor, they need to pay an amount for a specific time and this amount is the same for every visit. In addition, before starting a medicine course for any health issue, doctors always require reports of certain tests and these tests are like a burden on people. A survey conducted by The Guardian newspaper in March, 2015 in the UK that 65% of people left seeing a doctor or their recommended medicines because self-medication was a cheaper option. Consequently, since people start to take medicine without any advice from doctor, they may not be able to understand the potency of medicines. As a result, they become habitual of high doses which harm their health situation in long run. Moreover, taking medicine without expert advice may be a reason for organ failure as many oral medicines are not suitable for digestive organs. For example, taking painkillers or multivitamins without doctors’ advice can damage the liver and kidneys. To conclude, though people are interested into self-medication, they can save a lot of money from doctors' appointments and tests; however, this trend is not a welcoming one as it can cause many health issues and organ failure.