4 years ago Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teachign sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays community volunteer jobs are getting more popular as part of the alternatives to finalise the school season. Thus, some, including myself, consider that it should become a requirement for all high school students and in this essay I will explain my reasons. There are uncountable benefits that community activities developed by youngsters could bring not only for themselves but also to society. One of the main positive aspects is that these jobs foster empathy, the biggest lack in our present age, while working with people it is evident that individuals tend to think more about others and recognise their feelings and emotions. An example of this is when someone works with children or elders in a vulnerable situation, without any doubt it inspires them to think more about others and the relationships that are created impact lives forever. In this way, our students will improve not only their academic process but holistically as better citizens. In addition, despite they will not obtain economic retribution, it is an approach to the working world for those adolescents who do not have previous experience and plan to start their journey once finish their studies. For instance, a young that goes to volunteer in a community centre will have contact with the staff and will have to follow such basic rules that must be followed also in paid jobs as well as prepare him to acquire responsibility and discipline along with maximising skills needed to perform. To conclude, I totally agree with the compulsory unpaid community service for all the students in the highest grades because it will develop an awareness of our community's well-being and readiness for a work environment