Millions of people every year move to English-speaking countries such as Australia, Britain, or America, in order to study at school, college, or university. Why do so many people want to study English? Why is English such an important international language?

Since the dawn of the 21st century, most schools and institutions have made English education compulsory. It is said that English is the most widely spoken language and also understood language across the world. Also, most MNCs have made English as the official language of communication forcing people to learn this language failing which securing a job is next to impossible. More details relating to this topic will be presented in the following paragraphs. To start with, most the companies in the world are seeking graduates or employees who are proficient at speaking English because it eases communication with clients from different countries. For instance, if we take an IT professional in India, though he is working in his own country, he has to give status updates and attend regular video meetings with his client abroad and the medium of communication is English language. So, to ensure that there is a smooth flow of communication between their clients and employees, companies are looking for people who are good at English making it a language most people want to study. Getting into details, British colonization has introduced their language English to many countries and continents like Asia and Americas. Initially when British went to other countries to stretch their colonies, they introduced their language to the people of that country and to keep the communication ongoing the officials of the host country have started learning English and it rapidly became an international language with the vast stretch of English colonies. Though today most of the countries are rid of British governments, they got accustomed to that language and it has become an essential part of everyone’s life. Since trade and travel are heavily reliant on language, people are continuing to learn the language and hence it gained immense importance and popularity. In brief, the need to speak in English at work places and with the clients and to keep trade and travel ongoing, people have embraced this language and it is continuing to reign as most important global language.