some of parents think mathematics is redundant, else believe it is fundamental to be taught . discuss the both sides

Opinions are divided on whether mathematics is essential or not. In my opinion, the knowledge of this discipline is significant for routine activities of life and it also sharpens minds. I will discuss and analyse both sides of the argument in this essay. On the one hand, it is believed by some parents that mathematics has become a redundant subject as calculators are available to assist students in doing calculations. Almost everyone has a smartphone in their hands these days which are equipped with an integrated digital calculator technology. Therefore, children can spend their time learning other imperative subjects by saving time using electronic calculators for calculations. On this account, this point of view can be considered. On the other hand, many parents support mathematical education because it is necessary for everyday life, as well as improves the brain’s learning potential. With regards to the former, it is true that the basics of mathematics, such as addition, subtraction, division and multiplications are vital for day to day living. For instance, when people go for groceries or shopping, they have to check their bills for any miscalculations without calculators if they have forgotten their phones at home. Another significance of mathematics is its ability to modify the cognitive skills of learners since it improves the thinking and problem solving activity of the brain. Studies have proven that mathematicians are 20 times more genious than calculator users. In conclusion, after analyzing both sides of the argument, it is clear that each side has a strong support. However, in my opinion, the understanding of mathematics is crucial for people to perform daily life calculations and it also polishes their intellectual power.