Language teachers should concentrate on giving feedback to students when they do good work, rather than on criticising bad work.

In my home country of Brazil, teaching fashions have changed over the decades and today many language teachers stress rewarding good work with positive feedback more than criticizing mistakes. However, giving language students criticism may still be important, but it should be done in a constructive way. On the one hand, receiving praise for good work helps encourage students, which is essential because learning a language is often challenging for students. This is not just a benefit for individuals but it will also motivate the whole class to work harder and participate more. As we know, this is very important for language learning in particular because student must communicate and if they are not talking they cannot learn. For example, in my college there was a better relationship in some classes and all of the students learnt more with that teacher. On the other hand, language students will keep on making the same mistakes if they are not told about it. Some of these mistakes are basic grammar and the students can correct them if they recognize that they have this error; for example, they don't use a past tense to talk about a past action. In addition, most of us will be criticized sometimes when we leave school and get our jobs so students should be prepared for this. In conclusion, teachers should find the balance between positive feedback and constructive criticism. Also some student may react better to one or the other and teachers must think about each individual.