“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued by many that a better route to the treatment of diseases is to invest more into precautionary measures rather than funding several research projects. This essay completely agrees with this statement. I believe that the more effective methods put in place particularly in the workplace will safeguard people’s health and overall less money will be spend on copious amounts of studies. Employers can protect the well-being of their workers by enforcing certain rules which govern working in a safe environment. This allows strict guidelines to be adopted by the workforce and company in order that these are followed by employees to prevent any unwanted outcomes regarding their personal well-being. An obvious example of this is occupational safety and health assessments and procedures which act as a major defence of welfare of the modern workforce Another major factor to consider when expending on preventive measures against diseases is the enormous amount of money ploughed in by the government for studies. A significant proportion of the national budget goes towards subsidising research while other areas of public service such as education tend to suffer. Take cancer research for example, there is a lot of work and analysis required so that the possibilities of finding cures are higher. However, this action and its results are not guaranteed and would put massive strains of national accounts. In conclusion, sinking large sums of money into analytic studies is an extremely costly venture for an economy and the need to finance more disease preventing methods.