Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, minority languages are facing unprecedented dangers and are on the verge of distinction. While some people argue that the protection of these languages is needless and would waste money, I believe that less-widely spoken languages also deserve our protection and government should give financial support to ensure their survival. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people argue that it would be a waste of money if government spends financial resources on these languages. In their eyes, money should be used in a more appropriate way, such as help people in need. Surely, in many countries, for example, the areas of technology and education are unequally developed and numerous people are suffering from the underdevelopment of basic infrastructure. Only in rural areas of Congo, more that 800 thousands households are inaccessible to Internet simply because signal towers had not been established there. Likewise, students live in Chinese mountainous areas could not afford to buy textbooks, not mention the tablets that could facilitate their learning. In this way, if people ’s basic needs could not be satisfied, there is certainly no point in investing large amounts of money to protect the languages seldom used in people ’s daily life. On the other hand, some people claim that minority languages, similar to other commonly-used languages, should be preserved and handed down between generations, as they are also an indispensable cultural element of an ethnic group. It is widely acknowledged that language is a defining part of culture and reflects a nation’s history, cultural values, traditions and customs. Nothing is more vivid and persuasive than a language to demonstrate to our posterity the splendid history of a nation. For instance, by speaking their mother tongue, Indian students in North America could learn more details about the lifestyles and thoughts of their ancestors, which contribute to reinforce their cultural identity. That’s why Canadian government spend hundreds of millions of dollars to encourage educational institutes to promote the use of these languages. Without the financial support of public authorities, these cultural heritages are doomed to disappear in the foreseeable future. To conclude, while protecting minority languages seems to consume public money, I firmly believe that government should mobilise financial resources for the sake of conserving human spiritual wealth.