In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. what are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution.

Charging private car holders with excessive levies and transferring the revenue generated in enhancing public transportation,is not a good idea to solve transit issues. This may reduce the number of privately owned commute vehicles but not remedy the problem. However, it will take away the comfort of medium class families and make their struggling life harder, while rich people will continue using their auto means the overall impact of raised duty has no fundamental effect. For the, traffic issues can have other more acceptable solutions. Bringing up tariffs on the personal rides will reflect on traffic congestion by lowering the daily use of such transport by medium and low-income families, which will increase time for their daily commute, taking away some family time and convenience, as per socialist Robert Garter. On other hand, If they continue to use them, will imbalance the already stretched financial sheets of those households. The expected revenue generation targets may or may not meet as the number of such taxpayers will be limited so the up-gradation of public transport will be compromised, according to statistic data of the transport ministry of the United Kingdom. In other,words this will increase hardships for citizens with minimal change in traffic concerns. In spite of the increase in the levy, the vehicle used by affluent families will never change as if they can afford the luxury trucks, they can pay costs without difficulty, according to the Economic Journal of Canada. Furthermore, those people travel much more kilometres than the previous group of taxpayers, so they will add up to the problem of gridlock as per transport expert John Moore. Additionally, such luxury cars are not fuel-efficient and contribute to the air pollution in the study by the transport institute of America.In order to solve the above issue, the governments should add fines on luxury vehicles and encourage the company owners to provide transport for their employees, which will not ruin the budget of the medium class and still help in resolving the transport difficulty,according to the public guardian Philip Harper. In conclusion, raising taxes on all privately owned vehicles is not the ideal solution to the movement issue, instead the above-mentioned ideas will remedial the trouble with the least impact on the life of the majority of taxpayers.