Some people think that people should be given the right to use fresh water as they like. Others, however, believe that governments should control the use of fresh water. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Without a denying, a widely heated debate as for whether governments should control the use of fresh water (or not) has received great attention from the public. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the statement and a myriad of reasons would be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. On the one hand, an array of reasons that governments ought to give citizens the right to use fresh water. To begin with, water is an imperative element for human beings living on the Earth; as a consequence, people cannot live without it and be limited in using the amount of water. To put it another way, if people lived on Earth lacking water or were controlled to use water by governments, it would violate human rights. Secondly, water is produced by nature and it does not belong to anybody and cannot be a means of control or earning. A study conducted by Cambridge University concluded that over ninety percent of water is from rain and iceberg; as a result, nobody has the power to have it. On the contrary, anyone can arbitrarily use water. On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, controlling the use of fresh water by governments has more merits. First of all, owing to rare and limited resources, every resource on Earth ought to be cherished and controlled; therefore, the government plays a vital role in supervising them. In other words, without governments being in charge of water, humankind will not have enough clean water in the long run. Moreover, water that is used at homes or factories is purified by governments; additionally, the process of working and maintenance fees of machines needs large expenditure, so the controlling use of water is reasonable. Take my country as an example. It always lacks water in winter; as a result, governments always spend large amounts of money storing water so that use of water is controlled in my nation. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, even though some people are opposed to controlling the use of water, I am still deeply in favor of government regulations.