Some people say that the experiences a child has before starting school have the most influence on their future life. Others say that experiences as a teenager, especially at school is more influential. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

While some may argue that the most influential years of a child ’s life are before beginning school, others believe that their teenage years will have the biggest impact on their future life. The following essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, some people believe that the most important and influential years of a child ’s life begin before they enter school. During these years, a child spends the majority of their time in the care of parents and other family members. This is where the nurture and nourishment from parents start to create strong family bonds and moral values, and a child begins to develop emotionally and socially. These years are also when the neural pathways within a child ’s brain are developing and strengthening at an extremely high rate. Many people believe that the neural pathways which develop in the first seven years of a child ’s life will determine how well the child will perform and cope with life in the future. On the other hand, there are those who believe that a child ’s teenage years will play the biggest role in determining their future success and happiness. They may argue that the interactions that a teenager begins to have with other people outside of their immediate family, such as friends and teachers, play a largely influential role in moulding them into adulthood. It is true that when teenagers begin to make their own decisions in daily life, and bear the consequences of those decisions, they learn many lessons which impact their behaviour and thinking. It is also believed that teenagers are highly influenced by their peers, and therefore those who fall in with the wrong crowd, may be easily influenced into making poor decisions, which can have lasting consequences in their future life. Overall, I believe that the most important years of a child ’s life are the first seven years, when their brain is forming new neural pathways. Along with the emotional development and moral values a child learns at home, these neural pathways will be the basis for how a child responds and reacts to future stresses in life.