It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment shoud parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is thought by some, that punishment is necessary for children to learn, what behaviour is correct. I completely disagree with this statement. Although physical punishment is the fastest way to achieve obedience, it can cause psycological problems and prevent building a relationship in the future. Adults should choose explanation in order to make children behave well. If a person gets physical punishment regularly in their childhood, they are more likely to have depression in older ages. For instance, a child can have constant fear and anxiety, waiting to be punished again. As a result, children can avoid their parents and friends, which can lead to isolation and even a hard depression. Another problem that can be caused by strict discipline is difficulty to communicate with new people. In particular, people who were punished a lot have problems with sharing their feeling with others. Therefore, it is a complex task for them to contact honestly with strangers and build family. Some people believe, that without physical impact parents and teachers will spend hours and hours explaining difference between right and wrong over and over again. However, though explanation is not a fast process, children will learn the right things much more reliably, than by fear from punishment. It is important for children to understand moral principles by themselves, to be able to make complex decisions during their lives and to teach their children in the future. The only punishment that can be allowed is words and explanations, and it should be repeated as often as necessary for each individual child. In conclusion, despite the fact that punishment is the simplest way to impact the child, parents and teachers should prefer intelectual way to explain, why being a good person in important in life.