Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary times, prison is the place not only for punishment, but also for rehabilitation. In numerous circumstances, criminals can turn over a new leaf after imprisonment and become model citizens or impressive counsellors. From the following illustrations, I agree that they make good examples and are good persuaders for teenagers who are about to fall into the traps of crime offenders. To commence with, previous law-breaking criminal who understood their mistakes and become law abiding citizens are living role models for many teenagers. That is because they have been in the wrong, understood their mistakes, received punishment and made amendments. My colleague at the counselling centre is a striking example. He was a junvenile delinquent who committed burgulary, and after rehabilitation, understood the adverse consequences of his action and become a good cousellor after release from prision. He is able to draw examples from his own experience when talking to young people. It is clear to see that his own experience is the strongest evidence for teenagers to stay away from crime. Furthermore, youngster are often rebellious, which can be attributed to hormonal or society factors. Unwilling to follow the words of authoritative figures like teachers and parents, they are more prone to temptations of crime offenders. However, it is more likely they find resemblance in previous offenders, who have rehabilitated and changed, and follow their advice. Hence, talks give by rehabilitators about the dangers of crime can bring back many adolecents who are on the verge of committing unlawful activity. To conclude, previous crime offenders who have rehabilitated and become law-abiding citizens are strong persuaders to young adults and are the prime candidates for talks on perils of crime, as evidenced from their own experience and also the rebellious nature of teenagers.