In some countries young people are encourage to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

One year vacation after finishing highschool is given to students as an opportunity to gain work experience or travel in some countries. While it has resulted to many advantages, there are several negative impacts that should not be overlooked. There are many arguments in favour of this opportunity. First of all, this year is a valuable chance for pupils to find their interest and make a wise decision for their future career. For example, for a student who would like to apply for a med school, spending time doing some voluntiary jobs at hospital setting and be in a close contact with patients and the work environment gives a clear view of what they are going to experience in future as a physician. Therefore, young adults can obtain a realistic understanding about their dream jobs and pursue a career based on their abilities and characteristics. Furthermore, using this gap to take rest and explore other places also help youngsters to get ready for the adult rat race called life. This is because one's brain has limited capacity and for working productively it requires a time off to restore by doing activities like doing hobbies, reading books, and going on a travel otherwise it gets burn out. Consequently, give a time to the brain to breathe can prevent any university drop out or failure. Despite the above so-called positive aspects, there is a darker side to it. One can say that this gap can deviate a student from the way he was expected to go. For instance, getting hired in a regular job and earn enough money that a young adult needs to afford his expenditures might encourage him not to accept the hassles of approving for universites. Thus, those who get enticed by the money they earn can lose the potential successful future as a engineer or a doctor. Added to this, this year can cause a problem for universities ' enrollment. One can take the example of reputed universities like Harvard that continuity of education is important. As a result, taking a year of without paying attention to this matters can cause some difficulties for further education. To sum up, the opportunity of having one year before entering universities has both positive and negative side to it. Although it can result to figuring out interests and getting prepared for the upcoming couple of years of studing, it can has negative impact on their interest on enterring universities or their qualification for being accepted.