The best curriculum is not one based on a static body of knowledge but one which teaches students to cope with change. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is extensively held that the most effective curriculum is the one that teaches pupils to handle changes, rather than based on fixed knowledge. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement because while it is significant to learn to cope with unanticipated circumstances, a static course of knowledge is still in need in some career paths. On one hand, as the world is developing and changing unpredictably, students should be educated how to manage the upcoming changes. To explain, nowadays, the ability to deal with changes is an essential and pragmatic life skill due to the fact that people could not forecast what is going to happen in the near future. For example, COVID-19 is unexpectedly broke out and affected a vast majority of people throughout the globe, and this might lead to a huge change in individuals’ lives. This is proof that learning to handle changes is the most favourable curriculum for pupils to effectively adapt themselves to new situations. On the other hand, a fixed body of knowledge is necessary for certain occupations that require expertise in a particular field. This is because fundamental knowledge is specifically required when it comes to skilled majors in which learners should not only have practical knowledge but also academic one. For example, medical students have to study specific subjects such as biology, chemistry, and anatomy in order to be fully equipped and expert in their future jobs. As a result, the best educational program for them should be based on a static course of knowledge which provides them with specialisation. In conclusion, either fixed knowledge or coping with change is both important to teach students in the present, so I am inclined to believe that the best curriculum is to combine both perspectives into one.