University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely held that undergraduates should always focus on a subject in which they are specialised. However, others seem to believe that they should be encouraged by the universities to learn a wide variety of subjects other than their specialist ones. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement and claim that although concentrating on one subject is favourable for students ' academic performance, a different field of study is beneficial for pragmatic application. On one hand, university students who focus solely on one specialist subject tend to perform well. This is because when pupils have to study a range of subjects, it means they have to distribute most of their time to study for each subject, leading to a lower rate of productivity and performance. For example, medical students naturally study a lot for their professional subject, and if they have to prepare for additional subjects, they might push themselves too hard, ending up failing to attain all of them. This is the case that pupils should not study other subjects rather than their major ones in order to acquire academic achievement. On the other hand, educating students on different subjects might provide them with a wide range of practical skills. To explain, a well-rounded person is essential for the present day when there is a lack of skilled labour because of their capability to combine different sets of skills, as well as adapting and applying them in diverse aspects. For instance, Chulalongkorn University of Thailand has launched a new faculty called BASCII, which integrates the knowledge of technology, design, and business. As a result, in order to produce volatile people, institutions should provide their students with an opportunity to study different courses of subjects. In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that learners should concentrate on their specialist field of study. This is due to the fact that studying a range of subjects has an undesirable effect on the performance of students even though it holds a desirable one in which they could incorporate their knowledge and utilize it in their daily lives.