Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many times applicants are asked to provide personal information including their interests, hobbies and also marital status. Some recruiters feel that this information is useful. Firstly, personal information gives a lot of insight into a job applicant’s personality and hence it is crucial, however, secondly there is a small risk of it being misused by the employer. On the one hand, it is beneficial for organizations to receive information about a potential employee, including their hobbies, relationship status, and so on. The main advantage is that multinational corporations can assess whether a candidate is suitable for the job by asking for his or her personal details. For example, a position that requires frequent travel to different areas of the world will not suit married people because of their marital obligations. Or if, for example, a person is the father of several children this will show that he is responsible and needs this workplace. And this means that he will approach his work responsibility. Therefore, in certain cases it is an important factor in hiring. On the contrary, some people insist that employers should not ask for personal information. Besides, information like marital status and parental status can cause prejudice. Employers can take the view that a married man is more sensible than his counterparts, or a married woman would be less dedicated to her job. In consequence, many applicants can face discrimination while looking for jobs. Furthermore, in the case of hobbies and interests, subjective bias can take place. That is to say, if a candidate’s interest matches the interviewer’s interest, then there is a good possibility that the applicant will be recruited based on the subjective judgment of the interviewer. Having considered a number of arguments, I firmly believe that personal information is useful for the employer, because in most cases it is a very important indicator of a person's personality and his comfort in work. Therefore, it is understandable why employers are asking for this. However, there is a small risk that the employer may use this information against the employee.