Q. An increase in production of consumer goods results in damaging the environment. What are the causes of this and give a possible solution?

The production of consumer goods has soared these days which has adverse ramifications on the environment. I will discuss and analyse the main causes and a possible solution to this issue in this essay. With the increase in the competition and need for consumer goods, the supply has also risen significantly which causes a greenhouse effect on the earth. Since the production of all the consumer products utilized by people whether belong to the textile industry or manufacturing factories, causes a noticeable release of greenhouse gases. For instance, studies have proven that the industrialization in the modern world produces tons of millions of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere daily. These gases are depleting the ozone layer which is a protective layer around the earth that prevents the entry of ultraviolet radiation into the earth’s atmosphere. Consequently, global warming and climate change have become major environmental problems caused by manufacturing consumer goods. The most viable solution to this problem is raising awareness and public education on the topic of environmental problems. For example, government-sponsored media campaigns can educate the general public and industrialists about the threats to the environment that are caused by consumer goods. When people realise that by saving the environment they can eventually provide the future generations with a cleaner and safer environment, they will definitely reduce their purchases of unnecessary products. As a result, when the demand is reduced, manufacturers have to decrease their supply. Therefore, these measures will be fruitful in saving the environment in the long run. In conclusion, excessive utilization and production of consumer goods are devastating the environment because these are causing serious environmental issues. Therefore, these problems can be dealt with by educating and awareing awarding the public about the potential dangers of their actions on the environment.