Many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

t is true that nowadays an increasing number of oldsters are not under the care of their close people but live in retirement homes or in the special medical centres created for them. There is a number of positive and negative sides of this change in the modern world. On the one hand, today the community notices several beneficial consequences of this shift. The first advantage of this is that the health of all people in these institutions is always monitored. In other words, an individual lives there and has permanent access to professionally educated doctors and nurses, who could help him any time of the day. For instance, if a person has heart disease and feels bad he could be delivered to the operation room which is a couple of minutes from his accommodation very fastly. The second beneficial side for society is that workers who have retired parents are working more efficiently and are able to afford to relax after a tough day. For example, it is necessary to have time for recovery for those whose work requires a great deal of physical labour. On the other hand, the parents and the part of the public whose parents are in these kinds of places can face some kinds of mental problems. There is no doubt that people who used to live in a family move out to these institutions they usually feel lonely. This feeling is very harmful to human mental health and can bring a number of unwilling consequences. For instance, the USA researchers have recorded an occasion in a particular retirement home,when one of the residents very strongly missed his daughter and eventually faced dementia. In conclusion, while there are some plus points of having a free time after work and having a professional treatment if the relationship between child and parent will end after the retirement too much will be lost.