In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are plenty of city planners who consider that diverse functional buildings should be divided into different places instead of gathering them together. From my perspective, it is not a reasonable suggestion because its gains can not compensate for its costs. It is true that if we separate functional buildings, such as supermarkets, libraries, and executive institutions, into different concerns of cities, the cities can get a lot of benefits. For example, in a multi-center city, residents have to go to diverse areas of this city to deal with their issues rather than gather in one city center, so the heavy traffic would be moderated, given the traffic jam which is brought by the high-density population is a typical problem of modern cities, it is a good idea to build the multi-center city. However, Since the building of a multi-center city requires a huge amount of money to build transportation infrastructures to connect different parts of the city, the cost of building this kind of city is unaffordable for most local governments, particularly for small cities. Moreover, if the building of multi-center cities runs out of the limited budget of local governments, other essential public services, for example, the investment in educational institutions, will be underfunded, which is not a positive thing for the development of a city in a long term. From the above discussions, it is clear to see that the gains of building a multi-center city can not outweigh its cost of it. To sum up, even if separating functional buildings of a city would generate some benefits, the huge cost of this proposal prevents it from becoming a reasonable choice for many cities.