Some business find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as the lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions? Also provide relevant examples from your experience.

Nowadays, there is a growing concern over the missing of communication skills, which are critical at work environments. A great number of rationales have been discussed for this issue; however, there are several solutions that can effectively combat this phenomenon. The reasons for people not being able to communicate and work as team members are many. Firstly, many of these skills are not being taught at schools. This is because other subjects like science and technology are assumed to be more important. Thus, young adults who are graduated find working with other people challenging. For example, handdling a conflict with their colleauges might be hard for them although they are highly educated in the major they studied. Added to this, there is a wave of immigration that has resulted in people working with co-workers from various cultures and behavioural threats. A good example of it is Canada that in every workplace at least two employees are hired from different nationalities. This leads to them find communication and subsequently the collaboration hard due to the differences exist in their backgrounds. Despite the above so-called obstacles, there are feasible solutions to tackle these problems. It can start with adding a new particular course with the focus on soft skills to the educational curriculoms curriculum. For instance, how to work as a team or accept opposite ideas are topics that can be taught. Another practical way to mitigate it is to provide free courses and sessions for employees who come from abroad to introduce their cultures and learn more about eachother. This directly contribute to bring them closer together and open the doors of collaboration. To sum up, mastering interpersonal skills are vital for employees to contribute to a positive and collaborative work environment which is lacking due to improper education and the misunderstanding of different communities. Nevertheless, by increasing the level of students' education and provide an opportunity for colleagues to know each other, this problem will be addressed.