It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, furbishing young generation with the higher education plays indispensable role in most national policies. However, some people still believe that providing the tertiary education for the majority of young people is not only impossible but also useless. Personally, I completely agree with this statement for the following reasons below. Firstly, there are still many occupations that do not require their pursuers to access such a long-term and academic university program such as chef, hairdresser, builder or photographer. Instead, children having these passions are frequently encouraged to enrol on college or vocational courses which offer more practical job skills and hands-on experience. In many countries, especially in Germany, vocational programs are gained more popularity among children due to their shorter completion time, reasonable tuition fee as well as the job security after finishing. It does also not put the youth at risk of taking on huge student debts right after graduation which can lead to depression and lack of motivation. Secondly, if everyone could get admitted to the university, it would result in imbalanced workforce that could greatly damage the economic structure. This is because universities graduate rarely apply for blue-collar jobs like factory workers over the jobs that they are qualified for. Furthermore, it is simply unrealistic for the university to accommodate enough infrastructure for such a sudden ceasing of on-campus students. Despite proactively reducing this pressure by opening online programs, they still need a large amount to solve some problems left such as staff-shortage which can lead to financial predicament. In conclusion, while I do not deny that the youth should take a professional course to prepare knowledge and soft skill before starting any careers, the idea of dispensing university education to the high proportion of young children is still too unrealistic and unnecessary as well.