Unemployment is one of the most serious problems facing developed nations today. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to thirty-five hours?

It is undeniable that the issue of unemployment is one of the most challenging problems in affluent countries. The solution to this problem has been suggested by a group of individuals, the company owner should reduce the weekly 35 hours to overcome that issue. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether this solution has positive or negative. A common belief about this solution is that if the company owner will implement this suggestion, they will receive benefits. Because of this regulation, most of the companies' employees will not resign as before, because after enforcing this rule they will not have to do extra hours work, but for this, they will have to recruit more employees. For example, a company after the cut of 35 hours, the industry firm had to increase the number of workers from 350 to 450. On the other side, if company owners will enforce this rule, they will have to face some challenges. Firstly, the production scale of the company will reduce after the implementation of this law, since nobody's employees will work up to an extra hour. So, they will have to arrange their goods productions into three shifts such as morning shift, evening shift, and night shift. However, they will have to require more workers, so, they will have to pay more salaries and increase their product prices. Due to the increment in the prices, most people will think before buying. Consequently, the company's revenue will reduce. To conclude, it can be commented that, somewhat, this proposal has benefits and drawbacks. According to my own viewpoint, this proposal is possible with regard to theory, but not possible from practical perspective views