Nowadays, most scientific research is funded and conducted by private companies, rather than the government. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh its disadvantages?

Scientific research plays an imperative role in developments of countries. These research mostly conducted and supported by private firms rather than governments. Some people believe that this situation has more benefits than drawbacks while some disagree. From my personal view, I agree that the advantages are far more than the disadvantages. Private companies usually have more capital on some specific scientific research in many industries such as medical, technology, environmental, mechanical and chemical. For example, Apple which is a huge tech firm develop electrical devices invented many new high technology devices and many useful application. In addition, Pfizer developed mrna vaccine for covid 19 in a limited time for the pandemic. Although these private company considerably earn a huge amount of capital from selling their products to the world, people also significantly benefit with better quality and more convenient lives. However, governments have no control in many aspects on private firms and their products, especially pricing. This can make high tech and newly invented products too expensive and not affordable for many population. When there are more demands, the prices also increase. Furthermore, governments will need to depend on those private companies for their advancement in every industries. For example, vaccines, medicine, computers and electronic devices, satellites, applications and renewable energy sources. Governments will have to spend more money than necessary on private companies. In conclusion, advantages from scientific research from private institutes outweigh its drawbacks since it has improved people’s quality of lives and countries in many aspects. It also help saves many lives.