Nowadays, most scientific research is funded and conducted by private companies, rather than the government. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh its disadvantages?

Scientific exploration plays an imperative role in the development of countries. This research is mostly conducted and supported by private firms rather than governments. Some people believe that this situation has more benefits than drawbacks while some disagree. From my personal view, I agree that the advantages are far more than the disadvantages. Private companies usually have more capital on some specific scientific research in many industries such as medical, technology, environmental, mechanical and chemical. For example, Apple which is a huge tech firm that develops electrical devices invented many new high technology devices and many useful applications. In addition, Pfizer developed the mRNA vaccine for covid 19 in a limited time for the pandemic. Although these private companies considerably earn a huge amount of capital from selling their products to the world, people also significantly benefit from better quality and more convenient lives. However, authorities have no control over many aspects of private firms and their products, especially pricing. This can make high tech and newly invented products too expensive and not affordable for many populations. When there are more demands, the prices also increase. Furthermore, governments will need to depend on those private companies for their advancement in every industry. For example, vaccines, medicine, computers and electronic devices, satellites, applications and renewable energy sources. authorities will have to spend more money than necessary on private companies. In conclusion, the advantages of scientific research from private institutes outweigh its drawbacks since it has improved people’s quality of life and countries in many aspects. It also helps save many lives.