Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that schools are the best places to learn this. Discuss both these views.

Teaching good behaviour to a child is a great responsibility. Many opine that parents should teach their children a good code of conduct while others think that these attributes should be taught in the academic curriculum. This essay intends to delve deeply into both views. Personally, I side with the former view. Students spend the majority of their learning lives in the school. In such a scenario, it is evident that many people expect teachers to explain to young ones the importance of being a good member of society. To some extent, this can be achieved by organizing special classes, focusing on the topics like how to follow traffic rules or helping people in need. For instance, there are certain institutes that offer internships to volunteer at old age homes so that kids can understand the difficulties of octogenarians and refrain from taking them for granted. Consequently, this will instil in them a feeling of respect for their elders. On the other hand, many people including me suggest that parents are primarily responsible to teach such values to their children. A child from a very young age is always under the constant observation of his progenitor, which allows a mother or a father to foster them with the qualities like integrity, honesty, respectfulness and others of that ilk. In addition, parents would be able to focus on their child more diligently as compared to a tutor who has to pay attention to numerous pupils at a time. Thus, their own homes are the pivotal space to learn basic social skills. In conclusion, having the ability to become a better member of the community is vital for youngsters. According to some people, this can be learnt in schools but others believe that parents are supposed to teach this to their children. And I am completely in the favour of the latter view.