Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is very important for children to engage in fruitful activities during their idle hour. Some people opine that parents should motivate their offspring to do so whereas others believe that they themselves should inculcate this habit to keep themselves busy. This essay entails covering both views however I personally believe that both offspring and their guardians are responsible and can work towards achieving this as none of them can shrug off their shoulders. Those who believe that parents can encourage their kids give numerous reasons to support their opinion. Starting with, they are the first point of contact for any child. Hence, can nurture and mould them to take part in group activities and pick a hobby that they can do during their free time. Secondly, kids look up to them as their role models therefore they try to imitate them in the best possible way. Research suggests that children develop skills more often when parents themselves utilize their lesiure time with the help of hobbies. On the other hand, it is also necessary for the child to realize how best they can utilize their free time as they are the best judge. They should learn to keep themselves busy or take part in activities that are productive. Moreover, it is necessary because parents will not be there to guide always. So, it is important that they identify what makes them happy because who knows it can later become their occupation. I believe that both parents and children play an equal role in inculcating this behaviour. In the initial days of childhood, parents should allow children to try different activities which will help them to identify their interests. Later, it is the responsibility of the child to take the initiative to occupy themselves as it can help them in their future. To conclude, it is important that parents play an active role initially to involve children in constructive tasks and post that children can pursue hobbies which captivate them.