Some people believe that to give opportunities to the new generation companies should encourage high-level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed by certain individuals that young generations should be provided opportunities with retiring of high-class over 55 years old employees. Regarding this, I strongly disagree with this assertion. To begin with, the retirement of seniors in their fifties causes excessive burden on young adults. Since seniors are supported with pensions, and jobless benefits after their retirements, young generations have to pay a lot of taxes. For example, recent media in Korea reports that one young adult have to support almost 1.5 seniors. As the example clearly illustrates, seniors have to be encouraged to work to diminish youngster’s taxes. Moreover, elderly people should work for their health. If they retire earlier, some are neglected without social interactions in contemporary society, thereby leading to mental illnesses such as depression. In this regards, a survey conducted by the Korea senior Foundation has revealed that approximately 30% of seniors who work until at the age of 65 are healthier than others who retire before 55 years old. Hence, retirement at 55 is not a good idea for old people. Finally, seniors should work until at a late stage as new generations can learn a lot of knowledge and practical skills from old workers. Since old generations have lived longer than youngsters, they have experienced a lot of situations. Therefore, in some cases, old staffs are wiser than youngster. Not only can working together improve new generations ’ soft skills, but it may also contribute to decreasing the generation gap. In conclusion, old generations should be supported to work in order to maintain their health and reduce burden on new generations. What is more, it can be beneficial for new generations as they can learn from seniors.