In many countries, old or traditional languages are dying out or being forgotten, especially by younger people. Is this an acceptable development which occurs inevitably, or is it something which we should try to prevent?

It is widely argued that ancient or traditional languages have been increasingly going​ extinct in some countries importantly due to the discarded usage by the younger generation. This particular development suffer from several questions, which will be discussed here. On the one hand, the extinction of older or less widespread languages is generally anticipated in the present era (hard to understand) of globalization where the usage of some major languages has been frequently preferred over the minority languages. For example, during the past few decades, the usage of the English language has been widely advocated in many communities for some reasons. One important reason is that it can be imposed better employment and educational opportunities for non-native users. Furthermore, for some countries, using common languages can be seen as simply more convenient due to communication issues. This is evident from the situation in China, where members of varying ethnic groups generally use the same official dialect in order to communicate efficiently. The other side of the argument is that the preservation of the archaic language is essential as it can help maintain the unique identification and cultural heritage of the nation. It should be noted that language often plays a determining role in transmitting the historical values of the nation through generations. While doing this, the traditional language can help the people maintain their distinctive cultural and historical diversity which is of great importance, especially for the racial minorities. The most prominent example can be drawn from the Jewish who have successfully revived their ancient language. In conclusion, it is clearly important to take precautionary measures in an attempt to prevent the traditional languages from being forgotten due to the cultural and historical significance they can offer, especially for the racial minorities.