The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20 % in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects.

During the last decade, the number of adolescents suffering from obesity has risen to 20% when compared to the previous decade. Firstly, I will be discussing the reasons causes of overweight in children and secondly, will explain the consequences of being overweight. According to me, the predominant reason for having a higher percentage of the younger generation suffering from excessive weight is not taking part in activities like sports, and the gym and also excessive consumption of carbohydrates and fats. For instance, kids nowadays are addicted to online games and are not motivated to maintain their fitness. Consequently, due to lack of exercise, the weight tends to rise constantly leading to obesity. Taking food with more calories also exacerbates the problem. In addition to it, not having food at the appropriate time is also responsible for the overweight condition. Consequently, excessive weight also involves some serious health problems like diabetes, and arthritis and even might involve several heart ailments. Moreover, the structure and posture of the body don't seem to be good if we are overweight. In a nutshell, adolescents need to take care of their intake of healthy food and also need to spend a reasonable time on physical exercise to overcome the problems.