In a number of companies, some people think it is necessry to spend larg sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportation. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Public transportation has always been one of the most important and expensive issues in cities. While some people think that it is essential to invest in the construction of new fast trains between cities, Others believe that improving the old public transportation is more important. I am convinced that it is better to upgrade those existing ones before spending huge sums of money on new railways. Those who advocate the idea of establishing new rail paths for fast trains have valid points. They usually take the example of well-known megacities' problem of rural migration, which can be solved by decreasing the time of commuting for those who work in big cities but live in smaller ones. So by reducing the time of their daily travel, they do not need to move to megacities. Added to that, these fast trains can have a positive impact on the economy. For instance, if fresh vegetables are transported daily by these trains to big cities, not only will the rural businesses which are far from main markets improve but also people in capitals can buy them at lower prices. Having stated the above, improving the existing public transportation has many benefits. Firstly, this will lead to people using public vehicles more, which directly contributes to the decrease in pollution. More convenient public transportation is, fewer cars can be seen on the roads. Thus, not only will the problem of air pollution be solved but also it will decrease traffic congestion. Moreover, the increase in oil price is becoming one of the most concerning problems these days. Therefore, improving public transportation will be fair to taxpayers because they can commute with them instead of driving private cars and save money. To sum up, although spending money on constructing railways for trains deter more city population growth and empowers the economy, I believe that investing in existing ones is more critical due to the positive consequences it has on pollution and its great help on settlers' financial problems.