Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems to what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Nowadays, traffic congestion and pollution from vehicles are the subjects of public concern which have a devastating impact on our lives. Raising the petrol price can be a vital way in order to ease traffic problems and combat pollution; however, I would argue that other approaches can be adopted to address these all-catching challenges; in this essay, I will elaborate on two of them that can have positive effects. One of the most significant benefits of increasing the price of petrol is that there will be a considerable reduction in the number of private cars on the streets. This is important because, on the one hand, car emissions and exhaust fumes lead to air pollution. On the other hand, an increased number of cars not only cause traffic congestion but also results in noise pollution in cities. For instance, since the petrol price is reasonable, I use my own car to do my tasks, even for those close to my home. Therefore, imposing higher taxes on petrol costs could make people use alternative ways to communicate back and forth in urban areas. Otherwise, the number of vehicles will soar on roads; hence traffic jams and pollution will deteriorate. Nevertheless, other measures such as the development of public transportation for dealing with traffic and using cleaner fuels to tackle pollution should be taken into consideration. With regards to the former, citizens can be in courage to use public modes of transportation through diverse and quality public transit facilities. To clarify this, had it not been for a long time waiting for subways, or buses, I would have used public transit more than my car. As for the latter, the government is of the responsibility to allocate a notable part of its funding to replace the old diesel vehicles with more environmentally-friendly alternatives such as zero-emission vehicles, hydroelectric cars with exhaust-filtering engines, or provide people with unleaded petrol to cut down co2 emission which ends up contaminating air. In conclusion, to date, our life is under threat from growing traffic and pollution in the modern era. Although highering the petrol price might force people not to use their cars more often, I am of the opinion that other ways can lead a decisive role in alleviating traffic congestion and contamination matters such as making advances in public transportation quality and using safer and more eco-friendly options instead of current cars.