More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why?Who benefit more from this, the community or these young people?

Nowadays, it is common for the young doing temporary voluntary work in under-developed countries. This mostly happens because voluntary work enhance young people's CVS, therefore they might have better chances of landing a job in the future. Although it may look that this would benefit more young than countries that live in poverty, I believe that it brings advantages to both parties. There are different reasons why someone chooses to do unpaid work in under-developed countries. For instance, having a cv that includes voluntary employment that required to emigrate for a short time in a poorer country shows great adaptability and stress management skills. Moving from a wealthy country to a poor means that the person is likely to encounter issues such as a limited source of water per day and different eating habits. These changes help young people to build and improve the above-mentioned skills. Overall, this activity helps both the youngsters and communities who live in poverty. Young people can enhance their CVS and skills, and moreover, they witness poor countries ' daily struggles. Therefore, in the future, they might have an interest in creating organizations such as AVSI or HUMANA, in order to help poor communities. On the other hand, communities receive free help from volunteers and, also, make a friendship. For example, I read an article about previous volunteers prefering to visit every year the communities they worked for, rather than going on holiday to exotic destinations. In conclusion, unpaid work done by folk coming from developed community aid them to build new experiences while poor people have free services and make new acquaintances. I believe that this kind of activity is likely to bring people together.