In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by fast food. This has a negative impact on families. Individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally acknowledged in a significant number of countries that fast food replace traditional food and it brings disadvantages on families, each person, and society. Regarding this, I believe that such a trend is not always disadvantageous. On the one hand, if people only eat fast food rather than traditional food, national identities would be absent since food is one part of the culture. With all people eating the same fast food, there would be fewer consumption of traditional food and therefore tradition would eventually disappear, and along with them, their cultures. Moreover, fast food is harmful for individuals health. Fast food contains more preservatives and sugar than traditional food. Not only can consumption of high sugary food brings about obesity, but it may also contribute to other major health issues such as type 2 diabetes. For example, a survey conducted by OECD, the obesity rate in Korea where people prefer to eat traditional food was about 9%, that in America where people enjoy eating fast food was approximately more than 30%. As example clearly illustrates, eating fast food instead of traditional food is harmful for all of the public in the modern era. On the other hand, fast food is necessary in contemporary society. Some people cannot afford traditional food since cooking traditional food requires more amount of time and money compared to fast food. A lot of countries experience a recession and a lack of food. What is more, people to a certain degree, suffer from hectic schedule, so some poor and busy families have to eat fast food. If fast food had not been provide, they would not have sustained their life. Hence, fast food is indispensable for poor families. In addition, although traditional food is healthier than fast food, fast food is not the origin of obesity. For instance, an experiment conducted by an American science teacher has revealed that even though he had eaten only fast food from Macdonald’s for 90days, he lost his weight by 17 kg, and his cholesterol rate decreased as well. As a result, eating fast food is acceptable. In conclusion, while I accept that traditional food can sometimes be rather important to maintain national identity and healthy lifestyle, there is no doubt that eating fast food is necessary for some poor people. Additionally, the brief that fast food causes obesity is a stigma.