In some countries,governments are imposing heavy taxes on fuels to solve environmental problems. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this approach?

It is true that some nations are raising fuel prices to alleviate the ever-growing environmental issues. While there are positive environmental effects of it but this step certainly has drawbacks for the economic growth of society. On the one hand, the policy of increasing fuel costs definitely helps to control the environmental menace by restricting the number of private vehicles on roads. To elaborate, motor vehicles exhaust obnoxious gases such as carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide etcetera in the atmosphere. Also, these gases are the prime cause of air pollution and the increasing temperature of the earth's atmosphere. Thus, if the fuel costs are hiked, the average commuter prefers the public transport which has a low carbon footprint. Hence, it makes the earth less prone to global warming and mankind to perilous respiratory diseases. On the other hand, drawbacks are associated with it. In most the nations, goods and commodities are being transported from one province to another with the help of heavy-duty vehicles. So, a rise in the fuel price directly means inflation that exerts an extra financial burden on people who are hand to mouth. Furthermore, it also hinders the economic progress by indirectly forcing the industries to cut down the jobs and slow down production. As a result, the whole nation could slip into economic crises and struggle to flourish its business. In conclusion, although hiking fuel costs is beneficial for the environment, it also has possible disadvantages to halt the growth of the business, so a better approach would be to look for alternative fuel resources.