Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Parents indeed have huge responsibilities to take care of their children and raising a child is not an easy task at all. However, I completely disagree with the idea that all parents must attend a compulsory parenting course. In my opinion, the idea of forcing every parent to take a course to become a good parent is not practical. In this age of information technology, almost everyone has to work and they are already busy with their schedule. There will have insufficient time to attend a class for a fixed time. It is also unfair to punish a parent for missing a class. Even if parents have time to attend the classes, I doubt that everyone would agree on what good parenting characteristics should be and a single course would not suit everyone. Besides, parenting skills should be balanced with the needs of respective children and their personalities and behaviors. As well as being impractical, the training courses are not necessary a compulsory. Most parenting skills are handed down by earlier generations and based on personal experiences. They also required adjustments according to the individual response differ with conditions. If one method cannot help with guiding a badly-mannered child, its parents have to think of a different way. Moreover, it also requires mutual understanding and bonding between parents and their children. In conclusion, although offering parenting lessons to the public is a good idea, making it compulsory one would not be workable or efficient. Government should offer it as a class for those who have enough interest and time for it.