Some people believe that students who want to go to college after graduating from high school should either spend about one year doing a job to obtain some work experience or travel to enlarge their world vision. Do you agree or disagree?

Students in general are still very immature when they graduate from high school and have not learned to work on their own (be independent). For example, they are more interested in playing computer games than studying. When graduating from high school, many students have no idea what careers they will want to follow. They are unfamiliar with the different careers that are available and what certain jobs are about (involve). It means that they study without goals, and by the time they graduate, they often realize that they are not qualified (suited) for the jobs that they would then like to do. The cost of keeping a student at college is high, and we cannot afford to have students who are immature and have no long-term goals. For instance, when a student fails an exam or changes his or her major, a lot of money that could be better used (for more useful purposes) is lost. Traveling or doing a job (being employed) for a year before going to college will reduce the above-mentioned problems. Traveling will widen the students ’ vision, and they will learn to be independent, while a job will teach them some discipline. In short, I have seen that more-mature students with clear goals will save countries a lot of money and resources. I therefore conclude that students should travel or work for at least a year before enrolling at a college.