increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems To what extent do u agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some folks consider that raising fuel costs is the most effective measure to curb traffic jams and environmental pollution. However, I don’t agree with this view and will give examples to prove the fallacy of this opinion. Improving public transport and effective implementation of traffic rules are some ways to tackle this problem. Rather than solving any problem, increasing petrol charges has a negative effect on people's pockets. Fuel is required for transportation of everything that we use in daily life such as goods, vegetables, medicines, work commute etc. An increase in petrol price only results in people having to shell out extra money to meet their daily demands. To exemplify, though fuel prices have significantly increased all over the world in the last 50 years, traffic jams and pollution have still risen to higher levels. Additionally, increased fuel prices have resulted in rising inflation which has eaten up people’s savings. Hence, rising fuel prices are not an effective way to tackle traffic and pollution. On the other hand, there are other methods available to fight against these issues. The first solution is to improve public transportation facilities such as local buses, metro etc, which would encourage folks to use them instead of their own vehicles as public transportation cause lesser per capita pollution and leads to fewer traffic jams. For example, the majority of individuals in big cities like Delhi prefer to use the metro as their main commuting medium because it saves them time and it is also beneficial for the overall society. The second measure is to enforce traffic rules strictly as most people don’t follow traffic rules where they can easily escape after violating road rules and regulations. For instance, heavy fines and challans are good ways to keep violators in check as they fear they can get caught with strict laws in place. To conclude, increasing fuel prices is not effective to curb traffic and pollution issues as fuel is the lifeline of our modern society. Good public transport services and strict traffic rules are better ways to fight these problems.