Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Youngsters can have some impacts on each other, which is known as peer group pressure. This essay will explore why I believe the positives of being influenced by peers are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, the main advantages of this impact are progression and being motivated. With regard to the former, the young sometimes can be encouraged by their peers to improve. Simply put, young people usually set goals for their future, ranging from continuing their tertiary education and learning a new language to coping with a new job. This may motivate other young people to do so to have a brighter future. As for the latter, young peers can positively influence each other to tackle the failure and keep possessing hope for the future. As most youngsters sometimes talk about their challenges with their peers and resort to them whenever they face difficulties, they can convince each other to start again and lift their souls. However, this kind of effect can have some downsides. First, most young peers tend to assess their performances and improvements with their peers. As a result, if their peers gain some achievements in their lives, whereas they fail to achieve some, their self-confidence might be shaken. Second, being influenced by their peers, young people are likely to fail to have independent thought lines. This is because regardless of their capacities, abilities, knowledge, and experiences, they may decide to have the exact decision that their peers would make for their lives. Consequently, since they do not live according to their own interests and capacities, their lives may not improve as long as they are influenced by each other. Finally, some peers are bound to lead each other to some offences or become addicted to alcohol or drugs. In conclusion, it seems advisable that the disadvantages of peer group pressure, which are comparing their improvements with each other, having dependent thought lines, and coping with illegal actions outweigh its advantages.