Nowadays most green energy is becoming ever more prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Every nation relies upon various sources of energy to meet its industrial and economic growth requirements. While a majority of nations are heavily dependent upon fossil fuels to meet their energy requirement, few nations have developed the technical capacity to harness energy from renewable sources. Certain groups think that renewable energy is a boon for society while others believe it’s a threat to energy security. This essay will explain both sides of the opinion, but personally, I am in support of adopting renewable energy sources. Firstly, as argued by the opponents, obtaining a continuous supply of electricity from renewable sources is still a major challenge to resolve. This contributes to a non-reliable supply of energy from renewable sources to meet the requirement of industries. For example, in India 20% of total industrial units have installed solar panels but still depend either upon grid supply or diesel operated generators for uninterrupted power supply. On the other hand, clean and green technologies are revolutionizing the domestic energy requirements at the household level. Small scale clean technologies such as solar panels, wind turbines and wave turbines are being used widely for domestic energy production. It is ultimately helping in saving energy and reducing the dependency on grid energy of these households. Furthermore, these households sell the surplus energy to the grid for further use. For instance, in countries like India and Srilanka, the rooftop solar system is gaining popularity and is successfully adopted by millions of families. In conclusion, most countries still depend upon fossil fuels to meet their energy requirement and there is a gradual increase in the adoption of renewable sources with the advancement of clean technologies. The use of clean technologies to harness electricity from renewable sources is limited to domestic consumption rather than industrial use. Clean energies are offering value-added services in terms of saving costs and reducing dependency on grid electricity. The adoption of clean energy will increase with the advancement of technologies.