Restoration of old buildings in main cities involves enormous government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to spend this money to build new houses and roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

In this day and age, people often believe that the government should allocate more funds to the construction of new houses as well as road systems rather than the restoration of old buildings since this activity can waste a large amount of money. In my opinion, old buildings often have a lot of historical and artistic significance, although restoration of these constructions can have high costs and main cities have great issues related to living and housing, I tend to disagree with this statement. On the one hand, there are buildings that are worth restoring because of their historical or symbolic significance. Their preservation is part of the culture and can serve a great deal for education, getting to know a people's origin, legends, and capabilities. When buildings get to be restored, this legacy is protected. For example, Hanoi Old Quarter is one of the historical sites of Hanoi and is a place where there are a lot of tourists every year, so it needs funds from the government to develop and protect. On the other hand, in big cities, tax money should be allocated to provide adequate housing and construct more roads to accommodate the increasing population. More and more people from suburban regions migrate to urban areas in search of work. This has caused the population density in certain cities to rise remarkably, bringing in its wake negative outcomes such as traffic congestion and crowded living quarters. Using tax money to build more houses, therefore, provides people with affordable shelters that low-income people could purchase. In conclusion, I agree that constructing more houses and roads is important and should generally be prioritized over maintaining old buildings with the exception of historically significant constructions. I believe this should be the approach for most cities.