solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In many countries, solar energy has emerged as a prominent energy source for household usage. While this trend has its negatives and positives which will be covered in the coming paragraphs, this change is due to the rising prices of electricity as people are looking for cheaper sources of energy to fulfil their requirements. The biggest reason behind people switching to solar power is the increasing electricity charges. Using the sun’s radiation to generate power is one of the cheapest ways of harnessing energy, especially for regions where there is abundant sunlight. For example, generating electricity via solar cells is an efficient way in desert areas like Rajasthan. This is the biggest advantage of using it. For instance, the per-unit cost of solar power is almost half of other energy sources. Thus, an increasing number of individuals are preferring it over other ways of energy. However, there are certain demerits to it which cannot be ignored. Firstly, it takes an initial big investment to set up solar infrastructure, and hence, takes a long time to break even its setup cost. To exemplify, it takes around Rs 300 thousand to set up a solar system enough to meet the energy needs of a small family. Secondly, its maintenance cost is high as well since solar cells are still a developing energy field and there is a limited supply of people experts in it. In conclusion, folks have started moving to solar energy for their domestic use due to its long-term affordability. Though being a cheaper energy source, its significant setup cost is a cause for worry for its further adoption.