Nowadays many people have access ti computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the effects?

Excessive periods of time spent in front of the computer screen playing games can certainly bring about certain physical and behavioural problems. Children who play a lot of computer games are in a sedentary position for a very long time and this can be the reason why many of them are overweight these days. In addition to that, long hours of excitement and adrenalin rush has their repercussions, Many experts contend that aggressive reactions to events and occasional tantrums are partly the result of being addicted to computer games. Besides these, playing computer games for long periods can negatively influence children from an academic point of view. Some recent research reveals that there is a direct relationship between poor academic performance at school and the extended periods that children spend on computer games. In order to stop or reduce these negative effects on children, parents must intervene. More parent supervision is indeed a necessity to control the time which children spend playing games and they must instead be encouraged to take up a sport or some sort of physical activity to maintain their health. There must also be more counselling at school to push pupils to engage in more exercise and person to person interactions. In conclusion, although modern technology is not without certain downsides, these negative effects can be controlled and limited by taking wise steps and making an appropriate approach to it.