How to work with music and songs in English lessons?

Music is something that we enjoy in the course of our lives. It is a significant aspect of our lives and their role in English classes is very important. Using songs and music in lessons is one of the tools a teacher can use to teach a foreign language, regardless of the age of the learners, level of student´s language or their proficiency to study the language. This essay will focus on using songs and music in English lessons, including methods, descriptions, tools and research. Firstly, English lessons can incorporate songs, the language of sounds, rhythms, and feelings. This means that the school subject English could benefit from music and its use in English lessons at primary schools. Attention is paid to songs, especially focusing on their importance in teaching from both theoretical and practical points of view. As you can see, music and songs have many benefits and purposes such as the development of all skills (reading, writing, listening and speaking), activities including grammar rules, idioms, and pronunciations. Secondly, D. K. Eken explains how music works in the educational process: “ Music is considered as a strong candidate for making language learning classroom an optimum learning environment in which learners can increase their vocabulary, enhance their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and develop cultural knowledge.” He provides an explanation of how music and songs can change the process in educational facilities. Furthermore, if teachers include music in their lesson plans they have to take the time into consideration. There is the fact that students need more space to work with one song and we should proceed with small steps. Teachers’ selection of a technique and set of techniques should be based on the objectives for different classrooms. They should prepare an effective plan for each lesson where they would like to apply the song and music. It is also important and necessary to integrate all the skills in the process in order to achieve successful teaching. In addition, when people are in a good or bad humour, they listen to music. Therefore, we can use music to evoke a pleasant atmosphere or as a warm-up activity. Not too many teachers do it. On the other hand, we need to motivate our students and this is one option which might help.