Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Appearance and grooming play an important role in terms of career and job-related. Many companies and organizations believe that their workers should dress appropriately as they represent their firms. Nevertheless, some argue that quality of work is more imperative than looks. In my opinion, both appearance and work performance should be prioritized. Grooming and presence can make a positive or negative impact on workers during their tasks, especially their presentation as dressing will illustrate how well-prepared they are. For example, in a formal meeting with new clients, sales person's appearance is the clients’ first impression. If he or she is dressed smartly, he will look more professional and more reliable. Additionally, some companies have their own uniform so that other people can identify their employees clearly. For instance, construction workers mostly wear their uniforms for security and safety. However, many people value work quality more than physical display. It is undeniable that in some types of occupations, which are not related to socializing with people, attire codes are not important as employees do not need to confront many people. For instance, artists, programmers, graphic designers and writers. These types of jobs only value the quality of work since employees can mostly work from anywhere and dress whatever they want as long as they finish their tasks. For example, writers can work from home or from a cafe in their casual dress as long as their book is finished. In conclusion, from my personal view, people should prioritize both appearance and work quality since they are both important for career development and improvement in many types of jobs.