Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are companies that sponsor sportsmen as a practice to promote themselves. Some individuals believe that there are advantages and disadvantages providing funds and products to sports. The good and the bad side of the sponsorship will be discussed below. Investing funds on sports events or athletes can raise awareness of the companies. Famous sports competitions attract lots of viewers and audiences. They are available to watch on site, on television or even on the online streaming platform. It is useful to promote and to increase the visibility of a brand and related products by linking them with a popular event. Pocari is a product which is able to provide electrolytes to humans after workout. The company promotes the drink by putting advertisements in the Olympic Games and sponsoring athletes to drink their product. They had made a good profit after the competition. On the other hand, the company’s reputation may be affected badly by athlete’s behavior. There are athletes who are as well known as other public figures and they have the power of influence in the public. The presentation and behaviour of an athlete like the use of illegal drugs during competition, violence acts or marital affairs destroys their social image. When an athlete has bad publicity, the brand is also affected. Tiger Woods, a famous golfer, was involved in extramarital affairs during his golf career. This incident gave an estimate for damage to the market value of Woods' main sponsors. To conclude, providing funds on sports games or sportsmen can help to increase the visibility of the company whereas it may also affect the brand’s reputation by athletes’ performance. It is necessary to invest in a proper sports event and to maintain a good image of their spokesperson to the public.