Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours, and they feel more stressed out than before. What are the reasons? What can employers do to make their employees' lives easier?

Nowadays, in most sectors, 8-5 jobs have taken a toll on the lives of humans, as they have to work longer hours. This trend is mainly due to an increase in business needs and to cover up for others ' work. However, there are a number of solutions to this issue. One of the reasons why humans tend to work more nowadays is due to an increase in the business needs and project releases. Not only does this create a work -life imbalance, but also puts a burden on employees altogether. As a result, this builds pressure and stress, therefore, leading to several physical and mental issues. The important solution, I believe, to overcome such a problem is creating a 4-day work week model. If companies implement such a culture, more and more time will be available for workers to rest and rejuvenate. Consequently, this will improve the work -life balance overall. For instance, many industries in China have already implemented a 4-day work week, which is coming out to be beneficial for employees as they are able to spend more time on personal and leisure activities. The most important reason I believe is the need to cover up for other employees ' tasks. In most countries, labourers do not turn up for work, stating various reasons for their absence. In such cases, managers ask others to cover up for their colleagues' work, which adds up to the pressure. Furthermore, such workers have to work extra hours just to meet the deadline on time. (However, I believe, that people should not be burdened with others ' tasks. For example, if people remain absent on a particular day, without prior notice, they should be asked to complete their tasks later on when they join the company. Consequently, this will take off the tension from colleagues to complete tasks that are meant to be done by others. Therefore, on the whole, people should focus more on their own schedule and try to complete it beforehand. In conclusion, an increase in business deadlines and a burden of work due to others ' absence are the main reasons for a rise in the stress among employees. Only when companies follow a 4-day work week culture and implement protocols for vacations, will the situation be remedied.