Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, preserving the environment is a bigger and bigger concern in the modern world for not only each person but also governments and large businesses. However, the role of individuals is thought to be useless, only governments and big companies can have abilities to solve this problem. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement because of the following reasons. In fact, both governments and corporations should be responsible for protecting the environment. First of all, not only governments in many countries but also local authorities can put time and effort into raising public s’ awareness. For instance, they can educate inhabitants via media such as advertisements and news. Thanks to this, everyone can join hands to better the environment. In addition, governments and large companies should create a habit of protecting the environment for each person not only in public places but also at work by imposing stricter punishments for violating environmental laws. Furthermore, ordinary people make a significant contribution to preserving the environment through many meaningful activities. Firstly, the easiest action is throwing waste in the right place. It is just a small habit in daily life but it creates a big impact on the environment. Moreover, citizens can limit the use of some products that are harmful to the environment such as plastic bags and poisonous chemicals. In addition, they can use public transport rather than private vehicles which creates many emissions into the air. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that environmental problems can only be solved by governments and large enterprises because ordinary people also join hands to contribute to the process of enhancing and maintaining the planet clean. In other words, this matter can only be dealt with by the corporations of both governments, companies, and individuals.